Being arrested for anything—whether a misdemeanor or a felony—can upend your life. The last thing that you want, after being arrested and going through the booking process, is to worry about paying bail.
After you’ve been booked and placed in a holding cell in jail, the courts determine your bail eligibility, which can be differ depending on the courtroom. A bail amount is either set or denied altogether, but this only happens in cases in which the defendant is considered a flight risk or has previous penal code violations. In some cases, judges have the power to raise, lower, or even waive bail, but most amounts a judge will set are predetermined by a bail schedule.
Bail laws vary in different states. Some states model their bail laws after federal regulations, while other states, like New Jersey and Alaska, abolished the use of cash bail in most criminal cases. California is unique in that it uses what’s called a bail schedule system. A bail schedule is a list of rules that determines the particular amount of bail for different crimes and severities.
In California, it is the responsibility of the judges in each county to determine bail schedules for any bailable felony, misdemeanor, or infraction. The defendant’s family or the bail bond agent can review the bail schedule to determine the likely amount, but judges have discretion.
In some cases, the arresting officer may also request that the defendant’s bail amount be larger than what the bail schedule dictates. The courts will look at various factors of the crime and the defendant’s life, including any prior convictions, when deciding if they should deviate from the bail schedule.
Bail schedules are organized according to misdemeanors, felonies, and infractions, and there are various subcategories according to the type of charge. In San Diego County, here are some common misdemeanor charges and their bail amounts:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs: $2,500 for a 1st offense, $10,000 for a 2nd offense, and $15,000 for a 3rd offense
- Resisting an officer: $5,000
- Burglary: $5,000
- Hit and run with injury: $10,000
- Battery: $8,000 for a 1st offense, $10,000 for a 2nd offense
- Grand theft: $5,000
When it comes to felonies, the bail schedule includes:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs with bodily injury: $100,000
- Domestic violence: up to $50,000
- Hate crime: $20,000
- Grand theft from person, more than $950: $20,000
- Extortion: $25,000
- Use of firearm in a felony: $50,000
Paying a steep bail amount can significantly alter your ability to care for your family and live your normal life. Our team at Balboa Bail Bonds is dedicated to helping San Diego defendants secure their release from jail quickly, affordably, at all times of the day and night. Once you or a loved one contacts one of our licensed bail bond agents, we will immediately get to work on your bail bond agreement, and we will post your bail as soon as it is finalized.
At Balboa Bail Bonds, we take time to walk you through every step of the process, and work with you to make sure your release from jail is as easy as possible. You just need to make sure you are present at each of your scheduled court appearances, and pay the premium to us absolutely.
If you or a loved one has been arrested and is struggling to pay bail, don’t worry. Contact the team at Balboa Bail Bonds at (619) 760-2222 to get started.