We Specialize in These Charges in San Diego
Being arrested for DUI can be frightening and unexpected. You may be required to remain in jail until you or a loved one posts bail to secure your release. Typically, a driver being held in custody on a DUI charge will not be permitted to go free until a bail amount is set by the court and paid in full.
Balboa Bail Bonds provides fast, flexible, and affordable bail services to San Diego County and the surrounding areas. Posting bail in a timely manner can help you take the necessary time to plan your defense and put your life back together. Call us at (619) 760-2222 for a free consultation.
Types of DUI Charges in California
In the state of California, you can be charged with several drunk-driving-related crimes. First, you can be arrested if law enforcement believes you are impaired by drugs or alcohol while operating a motor vehicle. The chemical content of your blood doesn’t matter as much as your behavior, which the officer may deem to be “dangerous” on the road.
Second, a per se DUI occurs if a test finds your blood-alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher, for an adult driver over 21. This BAC is typically gained through a breathalyzer test following a traffic stop, or a blood/urine test administered once you have been brought into custody. An underage DUI involves any percentage of alcohol for a person under 21, under California’s zero-tolerance laws. Commercial drivers (truckers) can be charged with DUI for having 0.04% BAC, as they have higher federal standards to follow.
Although it might seem strange that there are different levels of DUI, these classifications exist to stop any and all drivers who may be driving impaired due to alcoholic drinks or narcotics. Adult drivers who have a BAC less than .08% can still be arrested and charged with driving under the influence, based on the judgment of the arresting officer.
Posting Bail for a DUI Charge
Judges in DUI cases often add additional terms and conditions when setting bail. These additional terms may include required attendance at Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, alcohol or drug rehabilitation programs, and the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. A conviction for DUI can result in fines, a suspended license, counseling, and prison time.
There are certain cases in which an individual arrested for a DUI will be released on his own recognizance (O.R.), meaning he will be released from jail without needing to post bail by signing a written agreement, promising to appear for a court date. Regardless of whether a driver is required to post bail, DUI suspects in California are typically jailed for some hours until law enforcement believe they are sober enough to warrant release. Judges are more likely to require an arrestee to post bail if he or she refused to submit to chemical testing, was involved in an accident that caused injury, or had a blood alcohol content (BAC) found to be .10% or higher.
If an individual is arrested on suspicion of a misdemeanor DUI, bail is typically set at $2,500 for a first offense and $10,000 for a second offense. Bail for a felony DUI arrest is typically set at $100,000. The driver, friend, or family member must either post the full amount with the clerk of the court or pay a bail bond agent to post the full amount for a premium of 10% of the full amount. The premium is non-refundable regardless of the outcome of the defendant’s case.
Need Assistance with a DUI? Call Balboa Bail Bonds!
Here at Balboa Bail Bonds, we know how difficult the bail process can be. If you or a loved one was jailed for allegedly driving under the influence, we are here to help. Call us today at (619) 760-2222 and see what our experienced and professional bail bond agents can do for you. Don’t stay in jail a second longer than you have to. Let Balboa Bail Bonds handle the process, so you and your family can move on with your lives.