San Diego Bail Bonds

Bail Bonds for Gun Crimes

619-760-2222
Home Bail Bonds for Gun Crimes

Need to Post Bail for a Gun Crime? Call Balboa Bail Bonds at (619) 760-2222 Today

Given the many violent crimes that California cities have to deal with, our state has taken a harsh stance on weapons offenses. Whether a case involved armed robbery or merely owning an unregistered Beretta, the courts can impose swift and hefty penalties on defendants. Beating your charges requires working closely with your attorney and having a strong support system – but that can be hard to do from prison.

If you or someone you love needs to post bail for a weapons charge in San Diego, Riverside, or Orange County, reach out to Balboa Bail Bonds. We help clients get bail posted fast and at affordable rates. We only charge a 10% premium – and there are no added fees! We also offer deals for veterans and members of the military, and all of our staff are fluent in Spanish. Let us get you or your loved one home today. Call (619) 760-2222.

Back to Top

California’s Strict Weapons Laws

The most common gun charges defendants face in California include:

  • Possession of an Unlicensed Firearm: If a firearm is unlicensed and a defendant takes it into a public space, he can face a misdemeanor charge and be sentenced to up to one year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.
  • Possession of an Illegal Weapon: Certain weapons, such as “assault rifles,” are illegal in California, and anyone who possesses one can be sentenced to up to one year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine; or a felony punishment of between 16 months and three years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
  • Felony Possession of a Firearm: Certain individuals, including convicted felons and minors, are barred from possessing firearms. Illegally possessing a firearm can result in a felony sentence of up to three years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
  • Concealed Carry: Concealed carry laws vary depending on your county, but the sheriff’s departments in San Diego, Riverside, and Orange County do allow residents to apply for concealed carry permits. But if a defendant does not have a permit and takes a weapon into a public space, he can face up to up to one year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.
  • Brandishing a Weapon: Drawing a weapon in a public space, even if it was unloaded or the defendant had no intent to harm another, can result in between three months to one year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine; or 16 months to three years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
  • Assault with a Weapon: Discharging a firearm at another person can result in hefty penalties depending on the type of weapon. For machine guns, assault weapons, and semi-automatic pistols, the charge is always a felony and can result in a maximum of 12 years in prison. All other firearm assaults are considered wobblers, meaning you can face either one year in county jail or up to four years in prison.

California utilizes other weapons laws to minimize violent crimes across the state, from charges against illegally transporting a gun to enhancements for assault and theft charges. Depending on the specific charge you are facing and the county in which you were arrested, the price of bail may vary drastically. However, no matter how high the cost, Balboa Bail Bonds can work with you to get bail posted.

Back to Top

Bail Schedules for Weapons Charges

Given California’s complex laws and punishments surrounding weapon charges, local courts can impose a variety of bail amounts depending on the nature of your charges. While there is a broad bail schedule for California, each county can determine its own criteria. Typically, a firearm offense that involves the illegal possession or use of the weapon will result in bail being set at over $10,000.

For the most common weapons offences, San Diego County sets bail at:

  • Assault with a Firearm: $20,000
  • Brandishing a Firearm: $20,000
  • Prohibited Possession: $10,000
  • Carrying a Loaded Weapon: $15,000

In Orange County, bail for weapons offenses includes:

  • Assault with a Firearm: $20,000
  • Carrying a Loaded Weapon: $15,000

In Riverside County, bail is set at:

  • Using a Firearm During a Felony: $75,000
  • Brandishing a Firearm: $5,000
  • Prohibited Possession: $10,000
  • Carrying a Loaded Weapon: $5,000

Back to Top

Getting Your Loved One Home ASAP

At Balboa Bail Bonds, we design our payment plans on a case-by-case basis to give our clients and their co-signers the best deal possible. We know times are tough and money is a major concern for you. If we post bail for you or your loved one, you only have to pay our 10% premium, and we can structure your plan to ensure you can make payments in a timely manner.

Our team of experienced bail bond agents in San Diego, Riverside, and Orange County are available 24/7, 365 days a year. Every one of our agents has been in the industry for at least five years and has strong relationships with the local courts. While we cannot guarantee it, we can work to keep your bail from becoming forfeit if you miss a court appearance, but we will communicate with your attorney to make sure you attend all court appearances on time.

If you need help posting bail for a weapons charge, call Balboa Bail Bonds today at (619) 760-2222.

Back to Top