San Diego Bail Bonds

Bail Bonds for Manslaughter

619-760-2222
Home Bail for Manslaughter

Helping Those Charged With Violent Crimes

Being charged with manslaughter is a scary prospect. The death of another human being is serious, and you likely have several different people seeking the maximum penalty for your case. As a result, the bail you are asked to pay will be expensive, making it difficult for you to return to your family and work closely on your defense with your attorney. To get home, you need the aid of a reliable bail bond agency who will support you throughout your trial.

If you or someone you love has been arrested for manslaughter, contact the experienced team at Balboa Bail Bonds. Our bail bond agents serve clients throughout San Diego, Riverside, and Orange County. We have a strong relationship with local courts and can get you out on bail as soon as it’s possible. Call us at (619) 760-2222. We are here to help.

Back to Top

What Is Manslaughter?

Manslaughter is one type of homicide charge in California and is often considered the least serious. However, it still comes with a lengthy prison sentence, harsh fines, and hefty penalties.

Manslaughter is the act of illegally killing someone, but differs from murder because it does not involve “malice aforethought.” With murder, a defendant must have intended to kill the victim or recklessly endanger the victim’s life. Manslaughter, on the other hand, applies when the defendant caused the death of another person through an act of criminal negligence or in the heat of passion, such as during a fight.

In California, there are three manslaughter charges:

  • Voluntary Manslaughter: Voluntary manslaughter is sometimes called a “heat of passion” crime, which means the defendant killed someone after being provoked.
  • Involuntary Manslaughter: With involuntary manslaughter, a defendant is charged with unintentionally killing someone through criminal negligence or reckless behavior.
  • Vehicular Manslaughter: Vehicular manslaughter applies when a defendant was driving a car and caused someone else’s death while also committing a reckless or negligent act. This can also be split into three different charges based on whether a defendant committed an act of ordinary negligence, gross negligence, or caused a collision for financial gain, such as insurance fraud. Vehicular manslaughter can also occur as a result of a DUI.

Back to Top

Penalties for a Manslaughter Conviction

Manslaughter, while a less serious charge than murder, can still come with significant penalties. In most cases, defendants are charged with a felony and can be sentenced to years in state prison. The main penalties for manslaughter include:

  • Voluntary Manslaughter: Voluntary manslaughter is always a felony and can result in three, six, or eleven years in prison, a $10,000 fine, a strike on your record, the loss of the right to own a firearm, and additional penalties.
  • Involuntary Manslaughter: Involuntary manslaughter is also a felony, but has a lighter sentence of two, three, or four years in prison, a $10,000 fine, a strike on your record, the loss of certain rights, and other penalties.
  • Vehicular Manslaughter: The consequences of a vehicular manslaughter conviction vary based on the specific crime, but can result in up to one year in county jail and/or a $1,000 fine for a misdemeanor or between two and 10 years in state prison and/or a $10,000 fine for a felony.

Bottom line, a manslaughter conviction can completely upturn your life. Beyond being sent to prison, you can lose custody of your children, forever damage your relationships with your friends and family, and still have to pay for what happened years after being released. Your best shot at beating these charges is to get back home where you can work with an attorney on building your defense. That starts with paying bail.

Back to Top

How Much Is Bail for Manslaughter?

While each county has the right to assign bail based on its own bail schedule and bail process, because manslaughter involves a death, its bail is extremely high all over California. Few defendants have nearly enough money or property to cover these costs, which is why you should not hesitate to reach out to Balboa Bail Bonds. We have affordable and adjustable financing options, as well as discounts for members of the military and their families. We only take a 10% premium for paying your bail, and we will work with you to set up a payment schedule.

Based on San Diego’s bail schedule, bail is set at:

  • Voluntary Manslaughter: $100,000
  • Involuntary Manslaughter: $25,000
  • Vehicular Manslaughter With Gross Negligence: $100,000
  • Vehicular Manslaughter Without Gross Negligence: $5,000
  • Vehicular Manslaughter for Financial Gain: $100,000

For Orange County, bail is set at:

  • Voluntary Manslaughter: $100,000
  • Involuntary Manslaughter: $25,000
  • Vehicular Manslaughter With Gross Negligence: $100,000
  • Vehicular Manslaughter Without Gross Negligence: $100,000
  • Vehicular Manslaughter for Financial Gain: $100,000

In Riverside County, bail is set at:

  • Voluntary Manslaughter: $80,000
  • Involuntary Manslaughter: $25,000
  • Vehicular Manslaughter With Gross Negligence: $7,500
  • Vehicular Manslaughter Without Gross Negligence: $7,500
  • Vehicular Manslaughter for Financial Gain: $7,500

Back to Top

Speak to a Bail Bond Agent Today

No matter the nature of your charges, you deserve a strong and thorough defense. You should not be stuck in jail pending trial; instead, you should be surrounded by friends, family, and a community that can support you during this difficult time. To give yourself the best chance at beating a manslaughter charge, you need to post bail as soon as possible.

At Balboa Bail Bonds, we believe in giving people a chance to defend themselves in a criminal trial. That is why our bail bond agents do not simply pay your bail and wait to collect our premium – we support you throughout your trial. From getting your bail paid quickly to working with the court to protect your bond from becoming forfeit, we provide round-the-clock service. Our agents have at least five years of experience and are available 24/7 every day of the year. Contact us online or call today at (619) 760-2222 to get a bail paid immediately.

Back to Top